Resources for Writers


Writer's Organizations

The Author's Guild - www.authorsguild.org

The American Society of Journalists and Authors - www.asja.org

The National Writer's Union - www.nwu.org

Poets & Writers - www.pw.org

Publishing blogs

Alan Rinzler - www.alanrinzler.com/blog

Mike Shatzkin - http:/idealog.com/blog

Chuck Wendig - http://terribleminds.com

Book Industry News

Publisher's Marketplace and Publisher's Lunch -www.publishersmarketplace.com

Publisher's Weekly - www.publishersweekly.com

Paid Content - http://paidcontent.org

Publishing Perspectives -http://publishingperspectives.com

Books about Writing, Publishing and Agents

There are many guidebooks about writing and the publishing process. Here is a selection of some titles that have been recommended by agents over the years.

"Literary Marketplace" - The LMP is the granddaddy of reference books on agents, publishers, trade services and international resources. www.literarymarketplace.com

"Guide to Book Publishers, Editors, and Literary Agents" by Jeff Herman. Provides in-depth profiles of many agents, updated annually.

"What to Do Before Your Book Launch" by M.J. Rose and Randy Susan Meyers. An overview of best practices for book publicity campaigns, including both traditional and internet marketing.

"Thinking Like your Editor: How to Writer great Serious Nonfiction - and Get It Published" by Susan Rabiner & Alfred Fortunato. A comprehensive guide to writing nonfiction book proposals and manuscripts.

"On Writing" by Stephen King - One of the most readable and helpful books for aspiring writers

"Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life" by Ann Lamott - A classic on writing advice and encouragement for both beginning and experienced writers

"Guide to Literary Agents" Writer's Digest Press

"Writer's Market" - Writer's Digest Press

"Council of Literary Magazines and Presses" (CLMP)

For Playwrights

Dramatists Guild - www.dramatistsguild.com

Theater Communications Group - www.tcg.org

The Alliance of Resident Theaters/New York -www.art-newyork.org

League of Professional Theatre Women -http://theatrewomen.org

New Dramatists - http://newdramatists.org

The Lark - www.larktheatre.org

Play publishing resources

Samuel French - www.samuelfrench.com

Dramatists Play Service - www.dramatists.com

Playscripts - www.playscripts.com

Smith and Kraus - www.smithandkraus.com
 
 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software